Officers & Committees

Board of Regents officers consist of the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer. The President of the University also serves as ex officio president of the Board.

The Board Chair appoints Regents to the committees. Board committees make recommendations for action by the Board. Committee responsibilities and charges are codified in Board of Regents Policy: Board Operations and Agenda Guidelines.


Expand all

Current officers

Following are the officers from July 1, 2021 - June 30, 2023: 

  • Chair – Regent Janie Mayeron* 
  • Co-Vice Chair – Doug Huebsch**
  • Co-Vice Chair – Mike Kenyanya**
  • Secretary – Brian Steeves, Executive Director of the Office of the Board of Regents
  • Treasurer – Myron Frans, Senior Vice President for Finance and Operations, University of Minnesota

*Regent Mayeron assumed the office of Chair on April 17, 2023 to fill the remainder of the term.

**Regents Huebsch and Kenyanya were elected as Co-Vice Chairs on April 24, 2023 to fill the remainder of the term.


Board officers serve two-year terms. The chair and vice chair are elected from members of the Board. The secretary and treasurer need not be members of the Board.

In odd-numbered years, a nominating committee consisting of three Regents is appointed by the Chair at the Board’s May meeting. The committee prepares a slate of candidates to serve as Board chair, vice chair, secretary, and treasurer. The election of officers is conducted at the Board's meeting that June.  

Standing Committees 

Expand all

Audit & Compliance Committee

The Audit & Compliance Committee oversees the University’s systems for risk assessment and internal controls, audits, and financial reporting, as well as the institutional compliance program. The committee provides the Board a direct communication channel to the University’s chief auditor and chief compliance officer, and to the independent auditor.

  • Mike Kenyanya (Chair), Vacant (Vice Chair)  
  • Mary Davenport, Robyn Gulley, Bo Thao-Urabe, Mary Turner, and Kodi Verhalen
  • Senior Leader Liaison: Quinn Gaalswyk, Chief Auditor 
  • Staff Coordinator: Jason Langworthy

Finance & Operations Committee

The Finance & Operations Committee oversees the University’s operations, fiscal stability, physical assets (e.g., land, buildings, infrastructure, technology, equipment), and long-term economic health. The committee advises the president and administration on faculty and staff compensation, benefits, recruitment, and engagement. The committee makes recommendations to the Board and advises the president on the development of the University’s annual operating budget and its capital improvement budget.

  • Janie Mayeron (Chair), Doug Huebsch (Vice Chair)
  • Membership consists of all Regents. 
  • Senior Leader Liaison: Myron Frans, Senior Vice President for Finance & Operations
  • Staff Coordinator: Jason Langworthy

Governance & Policy Committee

The Governance & Policy Committee oversees and makes recommendations related to policies and processes to ensure the integrity and high performance of the Board.

  • Kodi Verhalen (Chair), Doug Huebsch (Vice Chair) 
  • Membership consists of all Regents.
  • Senior Leader Liaison: Brian Steeves, Executive Director and Corporate Secretary
  • Staff Coordinator: Jason Langworthy 

Litigation Review Committee

The Litigation Review Committee reviews litigation matters and obtains legal advice regarding specific University actions and their legal consequences. The committee determines what matters to refer to the Board for review or approval. The committee typically meets in non-public sessions and consults with the general counsel on cases and claims. 

  • Doug Huebsch (Chair), James Farnsworth (Vice Chair) 
  • Ruth Johnson, Tadd Johnson, Janie Mayeron, and Penny Wheeler 
  • Senior Leader Liaison: Douglas Peterson, General Counsel
  • Staff Coordinator: Brian Steeves

Mission Fulfillment Committee

The Mission Fulfillment Committee advises the president and administration on academic priorities and the teaching, research, and outreach missions of the University. The committee oversees the University’s admissions practices and enrollment planning, student demographic trends, student affairs and student experience, efforts related to diversity and campus climate, academic program reviews, faculty promotion and tenure, academic medicine, research, and outreach.

  • Mary Davenport (Chair), Ruth Johnson (Vice Chair)  
  • Membership consists of all Regents.
  • Senior Leader Liaison: Rachel Croson, Executive Vice President & Provost 
  • Staff Coordinator: Krista Overby

Other Board Committees

Expand all

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee is established biennially to nominate candidates to serve as Board chair, vice chair, secretary, and treasurer. The committee consists of three Regents appointed by the Board chair.

Presidential Performance Review Committee

The Presidential Performance Review Committee evaluates the president's performance annually to assess outcomes and recommend compensation. The committee consists of Regents appointed by the Board chair.