Board Officers

The Bylaws of the Board of Regents establish that, “The officers of the Board of Regents shall consist of the Chancellor as ex officio President, Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer. The Chair and Vice Chair shall be elected from members of the Board of Regents, but the Secretary and Treasurer need not be members of the Board of Regents.”

A Nominating Committee consisting of three Regents is appointed at the Board’s regular May meeting in odd-numbered years. It is charged with preparing a slate of candidates to serve as Board chair, vice chair, secretary, and treasurer.  The election of officers is conducted at the Board's anual meeting in June of odd-numbered years. Board officers serve two-year terms.    

July 1, 2019 - June 30, 2021 Board Officers

Chair – Regent Ken Powell 

Vice Chair – Regent Steve Sviggum 

Secretary – Brian Steeves, Executive Director of the Office of the Board of Regents

Treasurer – Brian Burnett, Senior Vice President for Finance and Operations, University of Minnesota